Menu Close

Prof. Dr. Michael von Kutzschenbach

Dear Michael - this year you are participating in the Swiss Sustainability Challenge for the fifth time as an expert. What motivates you to do so?

I think it's great to see the enthusiasm with which young people pursue promising ideas for very specific projects. They all have a lot of intrinsic motivation to create a community worth living in.

As an expert, you attend the admission interviews. What do you pay attention to?

It is particularly important to me that the applicants are committed to sustainability. In addition to an exciting "raise d'etre," I also want to see that the applicants have taken a holistic approach to the effects of their ideas. Of course, it's especially great if the idea is also presented in an unusual way.

What are the core characteristics that a project must have in order to advance in the Swiss Sustainability Challenge?

The sustainability-oriented project should address central social and/or ecological challenges and clearly show which effects are to be achieved and how any side effects will be dealt with. It should also be evident that the team has a clear idea of how to implement their idea and, if applicable, can already name the first potential interested parties. Of course, this also requires a motivated and competent team.


A great idea with impact or a strong team: Which is more important?


I think it takes both to be successful.


What advice would you give to young people who are committed to environmental or social sustainability and to SSC participants?


Believe in yourself and your idea and never underestimate what a group of enthusiastic people can achieve!

Interview with Project Manager Prof. Dr. Claus-Heinrich Daub

You are a lecturer in sustainable business management at the School of Management of the FHNW and launched the Swiss Sustainability Challenge five years ago with Pax as a partner. How has the challenge developed since then?

Beyond all expectations! In the first year, we had expected a handful of projects, especially since the challenge was still open exclusively for students of the FHNW. And when the deadline for entries expired, we had 19 projects at the start. Funnily enough, we received the exact same number of applications in the two following years until suddenly, in the "Corona year" 2020, 40 projects were entered. With this, the participants have set the bar pretty high for us and we will do everything we can not to break it.

What motivates you to support and promote young entrepreneurs and their ideas?

At some point I made a vow to myself that I would only do things in my life that had a positive impact, as we like to call it today. That doesn't always work, but more and more often. The older you get, the more often you find yourself in the role of someone who advises, supports, promotes, etc., while younger people think of new ideas and concepts and actively push them forward. And what can be more fun than seeing how an initial idea eventually grows into a great project that has a positive impact on society?


What constitutes sustainable entrepreneurship and what advice would you give to young people who would like to get involved with environmental or social sustainability?


From my observation and experience, which is now also confirmed by scientific findings, sustainability-oriented entrepreneurs are altruistically oriented to a high degree. Interestingly, this term is rarely used today; most people talk about an "ethical motivation". However, I find that it is precisely the decided altruism that defines sustainable entrepreneurs. If people act in this spirit as sustainable entrepreneurs, they should be aware that in a capitalist economic system they will at best be greeted by headshaking, at worst with resistance: running a business and not wanting to make as much money as one could theoretically get out of it is not easy to convey. Therefore, I advise on the one hand to have a "thick skin" and on the other hand to look carefully at the quite conventional techniques and concepts of business administration and then to use them in such a way that one can bring about as much benefit as possible with one's own project.


What advice would you give to the participants of the SSC?


Go consistently your way and thereby use (potentially also shamelessly) the circumstance that humans from my generation 50+ and the generation before start understanding that it was them who brought the planet into this unpleasant condition in which it is nowadays. They owe you something and the least they could do is to support you in putting right what they have screwed up. You are welcome to remind them of this from time to time.

Mycrobez

Dear Mycrobez Team! In 2019 you have won our challenge. We are of course curious to know what has happened since then!

After the SSC, we were very quickly able to achieve our first breakthroughs in research, which went hand in hand with the first successful sales of CompoPack®. Subsequently, we were able to expand our team from three to nine employees, with whom we were able to carry out a successful pre-seed financing round. With this starter kit, we look forward to the future with excitement!


How has the SSC helped you and supported you on your way?


The Swiss Sustainability Challenge supported us in this initial stage with valuable expertise and networking. It also helped us significantly to concretise and implement our idea. With the help of the SSC, a business model emerged from the idea, which had to be supported by a competitor analysis and a business plan. This gave us a very good introduction to our new task and laid important foundations for our future.


The contacts of the SSC were also helpful for us, e.g. to other fungus growers and to the FHNW, which is still supporting us one year later. Not to forget the funding that enabled us to set up our first laboratory.


What are your plans for the near and distant future?


Our milestones for this year are a variety of research projects. Together with various institutions, we want to do important preliminary work to ensure the entry of industrialised mycelial composites into the DACH region. We plan to fully automate our process by 2024 and then scale up and internationalise with a strategic partner.


What advice would you give to the participants of the SSC 2021?

There is no better input than criticism. Nevertheless, don't let yourself get rattled too quickly, no one knows better about your idea than you do!

SmartBreed

Dear SmartBreed Team! It's been almost half a year since you won the Swiss Sustainability Challenge 2020. What has happened since?

A lot has happened. We have further developed our automated breeding box for grasshoppers and are proud that we can now very easily enable our customers to breed grasshoppers themselves. In concrete terms, this means that our boxes are already in place at a zoo and two farms, which breed grasshoppers of the highest quality themselves for their zoo animals and their chickens. We have also become successful in terms of grasshopper feed - agricultural by-products that would otherwise have been incinerated or disposed of in biogas plants. Through months of testing, we have been able to turn the sustainable by-products into a durable dry substrate that the grasshoppers like and that allows them to grow quickly.

To what extent did the Swiss Sustainability Challenge help you and support you on your journey?

The Swiss Sustainability Challenge has helped and supported us on various levels. On the one hand, the competition increased our visibility and we were able to make valuable new contacts as a result. On the other hand, the various experts were able to give us valuable input. Especially in the area of sustainability, patent and trademark law, we were able to benefit a lot from the coaches' broad network and are very grateful to the entire SSC team.

What are your plans for 2021?

We are clearly maintaining our vision of gradually replacing soy on farms as feed with locally produced, protein-rich grasshoppers. We also want to enable food producers and zoos to easily and cost-effectively grow their own grasshoppers. Therefore, our goals for 2021 are to grow more than 1 million grasshoppers in our boxes and to attract new zoos, food producers and farmers as our customers.

What advice would you give to the participants of the SSC 2021?

The Swiss Sustainability Challenge with its various milestones is ideal for young, fast-growing startups that want to turn their idea into a business.

Our tip is: Apply, even if you are a little early or late in the development of your idea and actively approach the many different mentors and coaches. Take advantage of the networking opportunities, workshops and expertise to build your startup step by step and grow quickly.

Menu Schließen

Projektleiter Prof. Dr. Claus-Heinrich Daub im Interview

Du bist Dozent für nachhaltige Unternehmensführung an der Hochschule für Wirtschaft der FHNW und hast die Swiss Sustainability Challenge vor fünf Jahren mit der Pax als Partnerin ins Leben gerufen. Wie hat sich die Challenge seither entwickelt?

Über alle Erwartungen! Wir hatten im ersten Jahr mit einer Handvoll Projekte gerechnet, zumal die Challenge damals noch ausschliesslich für Studierende der FHNW reserviert war. Und als die Eingabefrist abgelaufen war hatten wir 19 Projekte am Start. In den beiden Folgejahren konnten wir diese Zahl lustigerweise exakt wiederholen bis dann im «Corona-Jahr» 2020 plötzlich 40 Projekte eingegeben wurden. Damit haben uns die Teilnehmenden die Latte ziemlich hoch gelegt und wir werden alles daran setzen, sie nicht zu reissen.

Was motiviert Dich dazu, junge Entrepreneurs und ihre Ideen zu unterstützen und zu fördern?

Ich habe mir irgendwann einmal geschworen, ich in meinem Leben möglichst nur noch Dinge zu tun, die einen positiven Impact haben, wie man das ja heute gerne mit einem englischen Begriff ausdrückt. Das klappt nicht immer, aber immer öfter. Je älter man wird, desto häufiger findet man sich in der Rolle dessen, der berät, unterstützt, fördert usw. während Jüngere neue Ideen und Konzepte ausdenken und aktiv vorantreiben. Und was kann mehr Spass machen, als mitzuerleben, wie aus einer anfänglichen Idee irgendwann ein tolles Projekt erwächst, mit dem in der Gesellschaft etwas Positives bewirkt wird?


Was macht nachhaltiges Entrepreneurship aus und was würdest Du jungen Menschen raten, die sich gerne für ökologische oder soziale Nachhaltigkeit engagieren möchten?


Aus meiner Beobachtung und Erfahrung, die im Übrigen inzwischen auch durch wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse bestätigt wird, sind nachhaltigkeitsorientierte Entrepreneurs in einem hohen Masse altruistisch orientiert. Dieser Begriff wird interessanterweise heute selten verwendet, meist ist von einer «ethischen Motivation» die Rede. Ich finde aber, dass es gerade die dezidierte Uneigennützigkeit ist, die nachhaltige Entrepreneurs ausmacht. Wenn Personen in diesem Geiste als nachhaltige Entrepreneurs unterwegs sind, sollte ihnen bewusst sein, dass sie in einem kapitalistischen Wirtschaftssystem im besten Falle auf Kopfschütteln, im schlechtesten auf Widerstand stossen: ein Geschäft zu betreiben und dabei nicht so viel Geld verdienen zu wollen, wie man theoretisch herausholen könnte, ist nicht leicht zu vermitteln. Daher rate ich zum einen zu einem «dicken Fell» und zum anderen dazu, sich die ganz konventionellen Techniken und Konzepte der Betriebswirtschaft sorgfältig anzuschauen und sie dann so zu nutzen, dass man mit dem eigenen Projekt möglichst viel Nutzen bewirken kann.


Was würdest Du Teilnehmenden der SSC mit auf den Weg geben?


Geht konsequent Euren Weg und nutzt dabei (im Zweifelsfall auch schamlos) den Umstand, dass Menschen aus meiner Generation 50+ und der Generation davor allmählich dämmert, dass sie es waren, die den Planeten durch ihr Konsumverhalten in diesen unerfreulichen Zustand gebracht haben, in dem er sich derzeit befindet. Sie sind Euch so gesehen etwas schuldig und das Mindeste wäre, dass sie Euch dabei unterstützen, das wieder geradezurücken, was sie verbockt haben. Daran dürft Ihr sie gerne ab und zu erinnern.

Mycrobez

Liebes Mycrobez-Team! 2019 habt ihr unsere Challenge gewonnen. Wir sind natürlich gespannt, was sich seither bei euch getan hat!

Nach der SSC konnten wir sehr schnell erste Durchbrüche in der Forschung verbuchen, welche Hand in Hand mit ersten erfolgreichen Verkäufen von CompoPack® einhergingen. Anschliessend konnten wir unser Team von drei auf neun Mitarbeiter erweitern, mit denen wir gemeinsam eine erfolgreiche Pre-Seed-Financinground durchführen konnten. Mit diesem Starter-Kit schauen wir gespannt in die Zukunft!


Inwiefern hat euch die SSC geholfen und auf eurem Weg unterstützt?


Die Swiss Sustainability Challenge hat uns in diesem Anfangsstadium mit wertvoller Expertise und Netzwerk unterstützt. Sie hat uns auch massgeblich geholfen, unsere Idee zu konkretisieren und umzusetzen. Mit Hilfe der SSC entstand aus einer Idee ein Business-Modell, welches durch eine Konkurrenzanalyse und einen Businessplan gestützt sein musste. Dies führte uns sehr gut an unsere neue Aufgabe heran und legte wichtige Grundsteine für unsere Zukunft.


Hilfreich für uns waren auch die Kontakte der SSC wie z.B. zu anderen Pilzzüchtern und zur FHNW, welche uns auch ein Jahr später noch unterstützend zur Seite steht. Nicht zu vergessen war auch das Funding, welches es uns ermöglicht hat, unser erstes Labor einzurichten.


Was sind eure Pläne für die nahe und ferne Zukunft?


Unsere Meilensteine für dieses Jahr belaufen sich auf verschiedene Forschungsprojekte. Zusammen mit verschiedensten Institutionen wollen wir wichtige Vorarbeit leisten, um den Eintritt von industrialisierten Myzel-Kompositen in die DACH-Region zu gewährleisten. Bis 2024 planen wir unseren Prozess voll zu automatisieren, um anschliessend mit einem strategischen Partner die Skalierung und Internationalisierung vorzunehmen.


Was würdet ihr Teilnehmenden der SSC 2021 mit auf den Weg geben?

Es gibt keinen besseren Input als Kritik. Lasst euch trotzdem nicht zu schnell verunsichern, es weiss niemand besser Bescheid über eure Idee, als ihr selbst!

SmartBreed

Liebes SmartBreed Team! Fast ein halbes Jahr ist es her, seit ihr die Swiss Sustainability Challenge 2020 gewonnen habt. Was hat sich bisher getan?​

Es hat sich bereits sehr viel getan. Wir haben unsere automatisierte Zuchtbox für Heuschrecken weiterentwickelt und sind stolz, dass wir unseren Kunden nun sehr einfach ermöglichen können, selbst Heuschrecken zu züchten. Das heisst konkret, dass unsere Boxen bereits in einem Zoo und zwei Bauernhöfen stehen, welche selbst Heuschrecken in höchster Qualität für ihre Zoo-Tiere und ihre Hühner züchten.Auch in Bezug auf das Heuschreckenfutter – Agrarnebenprodukte, welche sonst verbrannt oder in Biogasanlagen entsorgt worden werden – sind wir erfolgreich geworden. Die nachhaltigen Nebenprodukte konnten wir durch monatelange Tests in ein haltbares Trockensubstrat verwandeln, was den Heuschrecken gut schmeckt und sie schnell wachsen lässt​

Inwiefern hat euch die Swiss Sustainability Challenge geholfen und auf eurem Weg unterstützt?​

Die Swiss Sustainability Challenge hat uns auf verschiedenen Ebenen weitergeholfen und unterstützt. Zum einen hat der Wettbewerb unsere Visibilität gesteigert und wir konnten dadurch wertvolle neue Kontakte knüpfen. Auf der anderen Seite haben uns die verschiedenen Experten wertvolle Inputs mit auf den Weg geben können. Besonders im Thema Nachhaltigkeit, Patent- und Markenrecht konnten wir durch das breite Netzwerk der Coaches viel profitieren und sind dem ganzen SSC-Team sehr dankbar.​

Was sind eure Pläne für 2021?​

Wir halten ganz klar unserer Vision bei, Soja auf den Bauernhöfen als Futtermittel durch lokal produzierte, proteinreiche Heuschrecken nach und nach zu ersetzen. Auch Lebensmittelhersteller und Zoos wollen wir ermöglichen, einfach und kostengünstig selbst Heuschrecken zu züchten. Deshalb sind unsere Ziele für 2021, dass in unseren Boxen über 1 Mio. Heuschrecken anwachsen und wir neue Zoos, Lebensmittelhersteller und Landwirte als unsere Kunden gewinnen dürfen.​

Was würdet ihr Teilnehmenden der SSC 2021 mit auf den Weg geben?​

Die Swiss Sustainability Challenge mit ihren verschiedenen Meilensteinen ist ideal für junge, stark wachsende Startups, welche aus ihrer Idee ein Business aufziehen möchten.​

Unser Tipp ist: Bewerbt euch, auch wenn ihr etwas früh oder spät im Aufbau eurer Idee steht und geht aktiv auf die vielen verschiedenen Mentoren und Coaches zu. Nutzt die Netzwerk-Möglichkeiten, Workshops und Expertisen aus, um euer Startup Schritt für Schritt weiter aufzubauen und schnell zu wachsen.